<span class="highlight">Peter</span> Brock Killed..?

Submitted: Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 15:08
ThreadID: 37542 Views:4512 Replies:38 FollowUps:81
This Thread has been Locked
Early reports via Sky..?? Car crash into a tree..?

Reply By: ro-dah-o (WA) - Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 15:10

Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 15:10
Just heard it on the radio over here in the west,

I know the targa west race is on this weekend, and today being the first day of racing. Happened at gidgegannup.
AnswerID: 193499

Reply By: ImEasy - Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 15:14

Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 15:14
Just heard as well.
AnswerID: 193500

Reply By: MAVERICK(WA) - Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 15:18

Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 15:18
confirmed - died in a single vehicle accident competing in the targawest today at gidgeganup ne of perth. don chipp - steve irwin - peter brock...........who next?? what a week.
Slow down and relax......

AnswerID: 193501

Follow Up By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 15:22

Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 15:22
They say things happen in threes, please let that be the end!!

Simba, our much missed baby.

FollowupID: 451401

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 17:15

Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 17:15
colin theile
FollowupID: 451442

Follow Up By: Redback - Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 18:12

Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 18:12
Author of Storm boy, Bluefin and many others
FollowupID: 451457

Follow Up By: On Patrol - Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 20:18

Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 20:18
I hope Germain Greier (However you spell it) doese not incinerate herself burning bras this week, that would be just too much to handle.LOL
FollowupID: 451501

Reply By: Member - Steve (ACT) - Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 15:18

Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 15:18
Driver killed in WA crash may be Peter Brock
By 7News
A leading racing driver has reportedly died in a racing accident in Western Australia.
There are unconfirmed reports that the dead man is nine-times Bathurst 1000 winner Peter Brock.

Sky News reported the accident took place in the Targa rally event in WA, and may have involved a collision between two vehicles in the race.

All I can find, Steve just rang to tell me!!!

Sandy
AnswerID: 193503

Reply By: TerraFirma - Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 15:21

Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 15:21
Here is the race site link, he was driving a Daytona Coupe..??

www.targawest.com.au/competitors.html

AnswerID: 193505

Reply By: TerraFirma - Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 15:22

Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 15:22
Daytona Coupes

http://images.google.com.au/images?q=daytona+coupe&hl=en&btnG=Search+Images

AnswerID: 193508

Reply By: Jodi - Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 15:24

Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 15:24
Just saw it myself on the news. Such a shame and tragedy when this sort of thing happens. I guess now all the media will be flying to the other side of the country. At least Terri Irwin will now have some more privacy for her grieving process. I feel for Peter's family and friends and what is to come.
AnswerID: 193509

Reply By: TerraFirma - Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 15:25

Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 15:25
Ninemsn site buckling under the news as it did when Steve Irwin was killed.

http://news.ninemsn.com.au/article.aspx?id=110748

AnswerID: 193512

Reply By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 15:28

Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 15:28
Yep, my missus called me (just like she did with Steve) and I thought WTF, then as I was talking to her it came on Ch7! Bloody hell, this is crazy!
AnswerID: 193513

Reply By: ingo57 - Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 15:30

Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 15:30
What's going on two great Australian Icon's in one week???????
AnswerID: 193514

Follow Up By: Member - Craig D (SA) - Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 15:31

Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 15:31
And Colin Thiele ?
FollowupID: 451402

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 15:39

Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 15:39
Hate to sound niaive.....who is Colin Thiele?

FollowupID: 451405

Follow Up By: Member - Craig D (SA) - Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 15:41

Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 15:41
Author of Storm Boy, and other novels. He was a SA schoolteacher.
FollowupID: 451407

Follow Up By: ingo57 - Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 15:42

Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 15:42
You beat me to it Andrew......
FollowupID: 451408

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 16:11

Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 16:11
thanks Craig......i don't mean to sound rude, just that i wouldn't have placed him in the category of Great Australian Icons, since i would think that to ask a person on the street who he was, would probably result in a blank look outside SA. Then again who decides on the membership ;-)

Sorry to see another "teacher" of all things pass away.

FollowupID: 451412

Follow Up By: robak (QLD) - Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 16:24

Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 16:24
Anyone that went to an aussie school since 1980 would know. They all either read "storm boy" or "fire in the stone."

R.
FollowupID: 451417

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 16:31

Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 16:31
I went to an aussie school during those times and didn't know.....so there must be others :-)

FollowupID: 451420

Follow Up By: robak (QLD) - Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 16:34

Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 16:34
hmmm....
maybe you were away on those days.
;)

R

p.s. I like your list of accessories.
FollowupID: 451421

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 16:37

Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 16:37
Might explain my lack of knowledge ;-)

PS. I do tend to think my vehicle is a bit "over-accessorised" :-)

FollowupID: 451424

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 16:37

Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 16:37
feburary dragon was my favourite
FollowupID: 451425

Follow Up By: ingo57 - Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 16:38

Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 16:38
Also schooled in the 80's, I must have missed those days two.

Point being everyone knows Brockie and Irwin, there a household name.
Not to take anything away from Colin Thiele
FollowupID: 451426

Follow Up By: robak (QLD) - Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 16:46

Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 16:46
My wife (and many others) wouldn't know Brockie from a bar of soap.

So I guess it all comes down to your interests. Apart from crocodiles and V8 engines, Australia has produced some great literature.
FollowupID: 451431

Follow Up By: ingo57 - Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 16:53

Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 16:53
How did you know he drove a V8 then??? lol
FollowupID: 451435

Follow Up By: robak (QLD) - Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 16:55

Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 16:55
I read it in a book :-)
FollowupID: 451436

Follow Up By: Member - Steve (ACT) - Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 16:57

Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 16:57
I was at school those days, Storm Boy is one of my favourites, including the movie, recently bought a copy on DVD to share with my children!

I guess the best way to sum it up is that 4 people who have made a difference in many Australians lives have been lost to us in the last few weeks! Don Chip, Steve Irwin, Colin Thiele, and now Peter Brock! My sympathy to all their families and thanks for their contributions to our lives!

I hope there are anymore reasons for posts like this in the coming weeks.

Sandy
FollowupID: 451437

Follow Up By: robak (QLD) - Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 16:59

Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 16:59
May they all be remembered for their achievements and RIP.
FollowupID: 451438

Follow Up By: ingo57 - Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 17:04

Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 17:04
Absolutely RIP to all 4.

I still reckon the book you had on V8's and brockie must've been a cracker robak.....
FollowupID: 451440

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 20:12

Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 20:12
The real mr percival used to live at Marineland at Westbeach and he would have public feedings where you could throw him fish and pat him
FollowupID: 451499

Follow Up By: Scoey (QLD) - Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 20:30

Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 20:30
Loved "fire in the stone"! And I'm still in my 20's! We read that and storm boy at school - top author!

Just goes to show just how fragile life is. I hope when you all get to go to bed tonight, just take a second to think how lucky we all are! I know I will! RIP lads! You'll be sorely missed!

Scoey!
FollowupID: 451503

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Sep 09, 2006 at 14:01

Saturday, Sep 09, 2006 at 14:01
The film Storm Boy was done over at the Coorong near (sorta) Robe.

Huge tragedies all these, and I know tragedies!

FollowupID: 451588

Reply By: Exploder - Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 15:35

Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 15:35
Yes it’s just been confirmed.

What a shocking week this has been!!!
AnswerID: 193516

Follow Up By: cam_champion - Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 15:40

Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 15:40
lets hope germain greer at least keeps her stupid mouth shut on this one, that is disgraceful what she is carrying on about Steve

RIP Steve, RIP Brocky
FollowupID: 451406

Follow Up By: guzzi - Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 18:22

Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 18:22
With any sort of luck, that bitter,twisted,excuse of a women will join them....
FollowupID: 451461

Follow Up By: nissnut - Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 21:42

Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 21:42
Went to a catholic school. Two best reads were HOTCARS and PLAYBOY.
FollowupID: 451513

Follow Up By: cackles - Saturday, Sep 09, 2006 at 08:06

Saturday, Sep 09, 2006 at 08:06
My sister saw that interview and sent her an e-mail
"you may not agree with steve irwin exploiting animals, but no one agrees with exploiting someones death to further your own cause"

HA HA HA HA HA HA HA you go girl!

cackles
FollowupID: 451552

Reply By: Member - Hugh (WA) - Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 16:06

Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 16:06
Yes, just heard the same from mates at work and seems to be confirmed by Internet reports. I had the opportunity many years ago to attend a dinner that he was guest of honour and found him to be a very nice bloke to talk to. Very sad indeed... at least he died doing what he loved doing (similar to Steve Irwin).

Our sympathies extended to his family.

Hugh
AnswerID: 193517

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 16:17

Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 16:17
Yes I met Peter when he started Rallying in the late 1960's. Nice bloke.

Very sad indeed.
FollowupID: 451415

Reply By: Luke SA - Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 16:12

Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 16:12
Peter Brock is a ledgend.

Would have to be the biggest loss in Australian motor sport ever i would think. 9 times Bathurst and sandown winner 3 times Australian touring car champion and plenty more accolades need i say more

Ive had the privelage of meeting BROCKIE at Mallala and is one of the most genuine blokes going around

RIP BROCKIE a true champion will be greatly missed in this house
AnswerID: 193520

Reply By: Waynepd (NSW) - Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 16:16

Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 16:16
I can't believe this week!!!!!
No more God please, there are quite a few left here we could do without, take a few of them instead.......
AnswerID: 193521

Reply By: Alloy c/t - Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 16:23

Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 16:23
Another "icon" gone to soon doing what was for them their very reason for being .,, seems the word icon is not enough / correct to describe the likes of Steve Irwin , Peter Brock + Colin Thiel , Rest in Peace.
AnswerID: 193522

Reply By: jdpatrol - Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 16:24

Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 16:24
Difficult to put into words the joy Brockie gave us at the track and on the TV, how much we held him in awe, particularly in the 70's when he was bigger than big. Remember his A9X Torana dominating everything.

RIP Brockie and Steve Irwin - true Aussie legends.
AnswerID: 193524

Reply By: Kev M - Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 16:25

Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 16:25
I bet there will be a big turn out at Bathurst for the race, I reckon that his memorial will be held over that weekend to send of the true ledgend that he is.

RIP Brocky.
AnswerID: 193525

Follow Up By: madfisher - Saturday, Sep 09, 2006 at 11:44

Saturday, Sep 09, 2006 at 11:44
Their is heaps of people at the top of the mount now paying tribute to the king of the mountain. Vary sad loss, 2 in one week. RIP steve and brocky
FollowupID: 451576

Reply By: Troop-a-dour - Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 16:27

Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 16:27
I competed against Brocky in the 1979 Repco Round Australia Rally. We were about 3 cars behind him at a stop at Sandfire WA.
Brocky (a great tea drinker)- ordered a cuppa from the 'roadhouse' there. When told it'd cost $3- his response was "I only want a cup of tea- I don't wanna buy your roadhouse".

BTW I did beat him on quite a few stages, even though he was the eventual winner.
AnswerID: 193526

Reply By: Member - Andrew W (SA) - Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 16:30

Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 16:30
RIP Brockie.

I remember as a boy flying (low) to Bathurst at insane average speeds to watch him weave his magic.

I must say you won't get me doing an interview with Andrew Denton on enough rope - enough said.
AnswerID: 193528

Reply By: Richard W (NSW) - Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 16:49

Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 16:49
Very sad news indeed. A legend.
AnswerID: 193531

Reply By: troopyman - Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 16:49

Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 16:49
R.I.P Brocky . Man whats goin on .
AnswerID: 193532

Reply By: Rock Crawler - Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 17:01

Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 17:01
Lets see what that b i t c h in London has to say about peter,

Tormented cars ?
AnswerID: 193535

Follow Up By: On Patrol - Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 20:34

Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 20:34
I hope Germain Greier (However you spell it) dose not incinerate herself burning bras this week, that would be just too much to handle.LOL
FollowupID: 451507

Reply By: Footloose - Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 17:09

Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 17:09
Poor guy, at least he went doing what he loved. My heart goes out to the families and relatives of all those we've lost this week.
AnswerID: 193537

Reply By: Member - Omaroo (NSW) - Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 17:19

Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 17:19
After Sydney radio station 2GB requested that drivers (including me) turn on their headlights as a sign of respect, nearly every car on the Hume Hwy home (68km trip) had their lights on within 5 minutes. He was very well loved and respected indeed.

R.I.P. Peter
AnswerID: 193539

Follow Up By: ZUKSCOOTERX90(QLD-MEMBER) - Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 18:41

Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 18:41
This may sound weird to all & sundry,when i knocked off work (building site) i had not heard the radio all day so i had no idea.I jumped in the truck after warming it up & turned on my headlights which is something i don't normally do, it was about 4pm still light ,& about 10 mins later it came on the radio about BROCKIE.I was dumb stuck could not believe what i was hearing.
RIP Peter Brock.
FollowupID: 451463

Reply By: Mad Dog - Vic - Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 17:27

Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 17:27
Bugga, that's the worst news I've heard since the Dooby Brothers broke up...Bugga

RIP
AnswerID: 193542

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 18:06

Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 18:06
thanks for putting it into perspective Ray ;)

http://www.brock05.com/brockRIP.swf
FollowupID: 451454

Follow Up By: D-Jack - Saturday, Sep 09, 2006 at 01:13

Saturday, Sep 09, 2006 at 01:13
Yes, Music IS the doctor.
FollowupID: 451539

Reply By: GU DAVE - Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 17:31

Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 17:31
I and my 4 sons have had the pleasure of meeting Brock a few times ..one i remember very well was at Mallala when he was racing a volvo it was in between races. we walked into the pit area & caught him standing at the back of his transporter & he started talking to us as if he'd known us for years... not once did he belittle us. we spoke about everything... not just cars, but life in general. our most recent meeting was at the sad time of our close friend dying in hospital with cancer. Brockie took the time to leave his duties at the Clipsal 500 & found his own way out to the hospital (approx 30 mins from the Clipsal site) to fulfill our friends' last wish to meet Brock. he spent an hour with my mate, signing all his Brock memorabilia & chatting about everything. after my mate died, Brock even took the time to personally sign some pictures i had taken. Brock is a true aussie legend & will be missed dearly in this family.... i can tell you a few tears have flowed in this house today.... RIP BROCK. GONE BUT NOT FORGOTTEN

P.S. he's up there in Holden Heaven with my mate Bob
AnswerID: 193544

Reply By: Member - Bruce and Anne - Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 19:16

Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 19:16
RIP Mr Brock and thank you for giving us so much pleasure.
Bruce and Annie
AnswerID: 193572

Reply By: Member - Leigh (Vic) - Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 19:34

Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 19:34
I can remember him back at Winton in the 60's, absolutely wringing the neck out of a little Austin?? with a 6 cyl engine in it. Never stopped watching him since and only regretted that he failed to get his 10th victory on his last Bathurst....that was surely deserved!! He was a good role model and supporter of those less fortunate. RIP Brockie.
AnswerID: 193579

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 19:57

Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 19:57
I can remember him at bathurst, the year the Jags came out here. It rained and brocky in the commodore started to close the gap at a rate of knots. Just pure driving talent, If only that 308 had not expired. Will never be forgotten.
FollowupID: 451495

Reply By: Doggy Tease - Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 20:04

Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 20:04
RIP Brockie. Condolences to all family and friends.
Damn, that man was a true Ausie legend.

rick.
AnswerID: 193590

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 20:51

Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 20:51
Another top talent lost this week, such a sorrow at that. Chippy had quite a life, Steve and Peter had shorter ones but just as fulfilling.
AnswerID: 193603

Reply By: Davo_60 - Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 21:32

Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 21:32
RIP 05, What a sad day, and what an amazing life he had. He really carried Australian motorsport during some tough times. It seems as though the charismatic days of touring car racing are now gone. It meant so much more when it was Brock v Moffat or Johnson. A battlers hero.
AnswerID: 193611

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 21:53

Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 21:53
>>> It seems as though the charismatic days of touring car racing are now gone. It meant so much more when it was Brock v Moffat or Johnson

Could not agree more.. seeing all the footage today on teh tele of the old HT Monaros etc going round bathurst, up to when the commodores started was so much easier to relate to for the average person...
love watchign them old races!
FollowupID: 451516

Follow Up By: GU DAVE - Saturday, Sep 09, 2006 at 00:19

Saturday, Sep 09, 2006 at 00:19
definetley with you on this Truckster........havent really been interested in the V8s for a while ....but still will miss Brockie just the same .......Cheers .....Dave
FollowupID: 451536

Follow Up By: Shaker - Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 19:04

Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 19:04
About one of the only things I've agreed with you on Truckster, the Touring Cars were much more relevant to most people than these hybrid 'V8 Supercars' that are racing now.
In those days you could actually buy a vehicle much the same as was actually raced, in fact if 200 people didn't buy one they weren't able to homologated.
FollowupID: 452337

Reply By: Jimbo - Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 22:15

Friday, Sep 08, 2006 at 22:15
Let us all spare a thought for Bev.

A woman who stood by a philanderer for 28 years.

He was a sensational pilot of motor vehicles. Can't say I've ever seen one better. Had he had a tilt at F1, he would have been a world champion many times over. He was one of my heroes as a boy, but then I grew up and realised what his values were.
AnswerID: 193622

Follow Up By: GU DAVE - Saturday, Sep 09, 2006 at 00:05

Saturday, Sep 09, 2006 at 00:05
wondered how long it would be
FollowupID: 451533

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Saturday, Sep 09, 2006 at 01:45

Saturday, Sep 09, 2006 at 01:45
I thought your Irwin post was a one off?

but was he a philanderer for 28 years??? or are you just after a bit of controversy!!?
FollowupID: 451540

Follow Up By: Barnesy - Saturday, Sep 09, 2006 at 03:36

Saturday, Sep 09, 2006 at 03:36
Jimbo, i agreed with your post and opinion the other week on newspapers but do you ever have anything encouraging to say? What women's weekly says about his private life is nobody's business.

Stick with the thoughts of him being a child-hood hero of yours. As he was mine. Was there a better sight than watching Brockie fly around Bathurst in a XU-1 or A9X?
FollowupID: 451542

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Saturday, Sep 09, 2006 at 08:06

Saturday, Sep 09, 2006 at 08:06
28 yrs a philanderer ? once again Jimbo you have lost the plot ,.or should that read Jimbo aka: Germaine Greer.
FollowupID: 451551

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Saturday, Sep 09, 2006 at 08:13

Saturday, Sep 09, 2006 at 08:13
I value truth and decency and exercise my right to express it.

That makes me a bad person?
FollowupID: 451553

Follow Up By: Member - Steve (ACT) - Saturday, Sep 09, 2006 at 08:51

Saturday, Sep 09, 2006 at 08:51
Once again Sandy not Steve!!!!!!!

I'd like to think that I've spent the majority of my life both truthful and decent, but I know there have been a few what I might call wobbles in my life, I'm glad I'm not famous, and hope that when i do go my friends and family remember the best about me. And that anyone who might have been witness to my wobbles and only want to remember them doesn't see the death notice in the paper!

It doesn't make you a bad person to want to remember the worst about someone (be it true or not) just a sad person to feel the need to post it on the day they die!

Sandy
FollowupID: 451560

Follow Up By: Davo_60 - Saturday, Sep 09, 2006 at 09:22

Saturday, Sep 09, 2006 at 09:22
Well said.
FollowupID: 451563

Follow Up By: Pavo - Saturday, Sep 09, 2006 at 10:09

Saturday, Sep 09, 2006 at 10:09
"A woman who stood by a philanderer for 28 years."

Everyone has got choices.

Farewell Brockie.
FollowupID: 451567

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Saturday, Sep 09, 2006 at 10:26

Saturday, Sep 09, 2006 at 10:26
Yeah,

She had the choice to leave and expose him thus creating a scandal that would have done his career no good.

She had the chioce to leave him and subject three kids to a life being the products of a broken celebrity marriage.

She had a choice to grin and bear it for the benefit of everyone but herself.

Then she got dumped.

I admire the woman immensely, hence I said;

"Let us all spare a thought for Bev."
FollowupID: 451569

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Saturday, Sep 09, 2006 at 11:04

Saturday, Sep 09, 2006 at 11:04
Truth and decency Jimbo ??, truth is that you have no common decency.
FollowupID: 451574

Follow Up By: littleborgy - Saturday, Sep 09, 2006 at 12:09

Saturday, Sep 09, 2006 at 12:09
listen to mr jimbo mr perfect never put a foot wrong in his entire life.....Wanker!!! find yaself a hole and crawl in it !!!!! do the world a favour......or perhaps you'd prefer to find one with germaine greer..........

tell me honestly jimbo have you been perfect all ya life???
FollowupID: 451579

Follow Up By: Barnesy - Saturday, Sep 09, 2006 at 15:28

Saturday, Sep 09, 2006 at 15:28
I'll repeat what i said yesterday:

What women's weekly says about his private life is nobody's business.
FollowupID: 451597

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 10:38

Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 10:38
My god Jimbo, after all these yrs, didnt you realise you arent allowed to have a thought of your own round here... Your supposed to be a mindless sheep, and just follow along.
FollowupID: 451820

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 11:11

Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 11:11
I guess that is where we all get brave with the internet.
Jimbo would be rather foolish to walk into brockies (or steve irwins) funeral and say that sort of stuff. Probably get strung up.
But it easy to be brave on here. Having said that we all do it.
I defended Jimbo on the Irwin thread, but now see that these are likely not really his views, just craving attention, and getting it!
FollowupID: 451825

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 20:20

Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 20:20
Just back from a superb weekend away with my wife (of 23 years whom I've never cheated on), and my bull elephant of a 17 year old, youngest, son who actually enjoys getting away in the camper with Mum and Dad, despite his social life.

No, I can't recall anything I'm ashamed of. I guess that's because I was brought up right.

I come back to read a few more insulting responses, not surprising really.

If you don't agree with what I have to say, so be it.

If I am telling lies, chastise me.

But to abuse me because you don't like hearing the truth, and from behind a keyboard, is plainly pathetic, and cowardly.

FollowupID: 451919

Follow Up By: shane adelaide - Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 23:13

Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 23:13
seems to be ok for you to say what you want behind a keyboard tho aint it jimbo like littleborgy said your a wanker
FollowupID: 452132

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 00:13

Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 00:13
"I value truth and decency and exercise my right to express it."

of course you are right Jimbo, but why choose a sensitive thread like this and Steve Irwins to express it? Perhaps it would be better to start your own "anti" threads on these subjects, not for the sake of suppressing free speech, but only because this (and Steve Irwins) thread isnt a debate like most threads that are posted online, but just expressions of peoples feelings.

But what I am curious about is why you have waited til these (often talked about) people are dead to express your strong feelings about them, and in someone elses thread? I cant say that I have noticed any previous comments on these two by you earlier?
FollowupID: 452137

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 12:50

Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 12:50
>>But what I am curious about is why you have waited til these (often talked about) people are dead to express your strong feelings about them, and in someone elses thread? I cant say that I have noticed any previous comments on these two by you earlier?

I agree.. Lets all start individual threads on people we like and people we dislike.. even though they have 0 to do with exploroz..

Now rememebr 1 thread per person you like/hate EACH and we expect every visitor/member to have at least 20 of each by dinner time or no desert...
FollowupID: 452230

Follow Up By: shane adelaide - Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 16:39

Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 16:39
^^^^^^^^ another wanker
FollowupID: 452270

Follow Up By: Barnesy - Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 17:06

Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 17:06
Brockie was a legend in Australian motor racing. Nobody can argue with me there.

WHO GIVES A FLYING bleep WHAT HE DOES IN HIS PRIVATE LIFE? GET OVER IT!

Jimbo and truckster, SHUT UP! NOBODY ELSE CARES ABOUT THAT!
FollowupID: 452280

Follow Up By: Mad Dog - Vic - Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 17:28

Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 17:28
Wish I could keep myself in good shape like Brockie did, until the bingle at least. I'm just gonna have to cut a stubbie or two from the weekly allowance. Sorry but I know jack about his private life so can't comment much but one thing I learnt long ago is that there's always two side to a story.
FollowupID: 452292

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 18:03

Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 18:03
"I agree.. Lets all start individual threads on people we like and people we dislike.. even though they have 0 to do with ExplorOz.. "

love the sarcasm, truck.

but I thought both of these people have some connection to the people who utilise exploroz?
Irwin and wildlife, outdoor life, toyota landcruisers, bush issues etc.

Brockie and cars in general, still a remote connection.

All I am saying is there is a time and place for everything, and you would have to be a total w.nker to walk into someones funeral or memorial and stand up to say those things, unless he was adolf hitler etc.
And I havent heard Bev Brock come out and say those things at this time, nor his children.
And I dare say they wouldnt appreciate hearing again it from someone who probably read it in womans weekly, true or not. So if they can get over at this time surely other people with no connection to them can?
FollowupID: 452311

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 18:54

Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 18:54
Some of you just don't get it.

This thread is full of what a great bloke he was. I happen to disagree. He was a great driver and a lot of help to other young drivers. I'll never dispute that.

However.....it is my opinion, and by my standards of basic decency, that he was not a great bloke.

He was an adulterer. Thus he treated the mother of his children poorly.

Bev Brock, Hazel Hawke et al. The list is longer than I care to type.

Then these womanising infidels are held up as bastions and heroes. Well, not by me.
FollowupID: 452329

Follow Up By: Mad Dog - Vic - Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 19:32

Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 19:32
Looks you read the Womans Weekly and other gossip mags Jim...lol
FollowupID: 452342

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 19:43

Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 19:43
Jimbo,

Sorry mate, but you are displaying your ignorance and total lack of decorum.

"Adultery is defined as consensual sexual intercourse by a married person with someone other than his or her lawful spouse."

Peter and Bev were never married. They lived together for 28 years.

But I am not having a go at either of them.

I admired Peter as an Australian Motorsport legend.
I also admire Bev for her diplomacy.

She is not shooting Peter down and neither should you.

FollowupID: 452345

Follow Up By: Pavo - Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 19:44

Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 19:44
"Then these womanising infidels..."

How do you know he is an infidel? Or did you just make that assumption?
FollowupID: 452346

Follow Up By: Mad Dog - Vic - Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 19:51

Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 19:51
>She is not shooting Peter down and neither should you

"Peter didn't like making mistakes, well this is one mistake he wont have to live with"

Sounds like a cheap shot to me, not a happy camper but that's their business.
FollowupID: 452349

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 20:13

Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 20:13
Sandie,

Don't accuse me of ignorance.

Your ignorant statement is;

""Adultery is defined as consensual sexual intercourse by a married person with someone other than his or her lawful spouse."

Peter and Bev were never married. They lived together for 28 years."

LAWFUL SPOUSE. At Law, two people who live together as man and wife for over 12 months have the legal status of being married. Hence he committed adultery, to the letter of the law.

If you're going to try to use sematics, or quoting the law, at least try to get it right.

And you've never answered my question; have you ever been fined for speeding?
FollowupID: 452357

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 20:29

Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 20:29
An infidel :: one who does not believe in the true prophet Mohammed ,,,Jimbo you have lost the plot cronicaly
FollowupID: 452359

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 20:42

Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 20:42
Ah Jimbo,

We do like to be pedantic don't we.

The definition I quoted was taken directly off a reference site. So I did "get it right".

As for your interpretation, I guess it depends on whether you are looking from a moral, religious, or legal viewpoint eh!. As far as legality is concerned, the "letter of the law" when related to the Federal Family Law Court is concerned would stand little chance. Probably only "legal" from a Taxation Office point of view.

Now, the speeding question. Was this from another unrelated Post because I'm buggered if I can see reference to it in this thread.

FollowupID: 452364

Follow Up By: Barnesy - Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 20:44

Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 20:44
I'm asking nicely, will everybody please stop this dumb post. I'm sick of opening up my email to this stupid post. Jimbo wanted some attention and he's got it.

My primary school teacher said there's something called good attention and bad attention. I think it's time for Jimbo to sit in the corner now and think about what he's done.

I don't want to hear any arguments from you Jimbo back to me. I'm not interested. Please let this be the last post everybody.
FollowupID: 452365

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 20:47

Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 20:47
Alloy,

You are not even remotely educated.

"cronicaly" ROFLMAO.

If you can accept the challenge, open a dictionary (assuming you own one) and look up infidel and infidelity. It is part of our (English) language, derived from the Latin "fidelis", meaning faithful. Infidelity is the opposite. Do you understand this simple explanation?

An infidel can also be one who has no religious belief. It is a term that the informed associate with the topic at hand, be that religion ot marital. Introducing the racist Islam implication, because you have heard it in the news, only weakens your pitiful suggestion.

I suppose I should have taken advice from a wise man who once said to me;

"Don't argue with fools, they'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience."
FollowupID: 452368

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 20:54

Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 20:54
Barnesy,

If you're not interested, stop your petty insults, and leave the debate.

It's your choice.

I'm offering good odds you'll be back. You abuse people who disagree with you.

You think you are right. You can't accept an alternate viewpoint.

Sad, very sad.
FollowupID: 452370

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 20:58

Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 20:58
Sandie,

My point about your views on speeding goes to your credibility.

You made outrageous statements about those who speed, but wouldn't ever answer a simple question; have you ever been booked for speeding?

We all know the answer, but you haven't been man enough to admit it.

Ever heard the word hypocrite?

They have no credibility.
FollowupID: 452371

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 21:12

Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 21:12
OK Jimbo,

Don't bother pointing me to the relevant thread. It doesn't matter.
I'll play the game anyway.

Yes I have been booked for speeding, twice in 40 years of driving.
And both times I was guilty under "the letter of the law" as you like to quote.
No excuses. I did the crime and payed the fine.

So what are you on about chuckie???

FollowupID: 452375

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 21:30

Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 21:30
Stop preaching Sandie,

That is my point.

Pity you didn't own up to it on the relevant thread. A bit late now.

"chuckie"???????
FollowupID: 452380

Follow Up By: shane adelaide - Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 22:31

Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 22:31
very true fisho64. it bleep s me when people make comments on things when they dont even know the full story. people should just mind there own bussiness. i honestly think they are just jelous as they will never be the legend that brockie always will be
FollowupID: 452400

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 23:16

Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 23:16
^^^^^^^^^^^^ another wanker..
FollowupID: 452409

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 00:25

Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 00:25
once the debate stops and the abuse starts, you know someone is feeling cornered!!

this must be the longest followup ever?
FollowupID: 452424

Follow Up By: Brian B (QLD) - Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 09:00

Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 09:00
I think if you CLICK HERE then you will see a fair explanation of what appears to be going on with aspects of this post and others.

Just my opinion.
FollowupID: 452448

Follow Up By: Member - Pezza (QLD) - Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 10:17

Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 10:17
Very well put Brian, that link summs up Jimbo 100%.
I now put him in the same catagory as the fools on the UHF during the peak hrs in the city areas ( those who listen to the UHF, or don't for that exact reason, will know who I'm talking about ) these type of people don't come on saying these things looking for anyone to tell them how nice a person they are or for anyone to agree with them, they specifically do these things to get some sort of attention, by abusing them or telling them to go away is exactly what they are after, best thing is to just ignore them.
My opinion is that these people have never been any good at anything in their life, usually due to lack of commitment or laziness or both, yet they crave attention, so this is the only way they can get that attention. Sort of like the kids in school who start smoking, swearing excessively, starting fights etc, rather than do something positive, just to gain some sort of attention they so desperately crave, unfortunately they do all this with little regard to other peoples feelings, though selfishness is also a common trait with this type of person.
Jimbo is a classic example of one of these people, best to just ignore him and eventually he may go away, maybe with a little help from the people who run this great site.

Avagoodn
Pezza
FollowupID: 452459

Follow Up By: Mad Dog - Vic - Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 10:36

Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 10:36
I don't agree with Jim either but that scathing attack on Jimbo's character says more about you than Jim Pezza.

Get yourself down to his level Jim and tell him to farrkkk off, he should understand that.
FollowupID: 452463

Follow Up By: Member - Pezza (QLD) - Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 11:24

Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 11:24
This thread was the EO equivilent to a memorial to an Australian Legend, as was the one started about Steve Irwin. Some where for people who visit this site to pass on their condolances, Jimbo has once again, single handedly managed to degenerate not only somebody elses thread, but this memorial, as he did with Steve Irwin's thread, and create controversial opinion and rile people up for the sole purpose of boosting his own ego, and that, IMO, is sad.
He deserves everything he gets.

Pezza
FollowupID: 452477

Reply By: Barnesy - Saturday, Sep 09, 2006 at 00:22

Saturday, Sep 09, 2006 at 00:22
Saw Brockie racing at Mallala in a VL Group A. His 308 always seemed to sound cooler and go faster than every other car (except those bloody Sierras, I've erased from my memory those couple of years he drove them).
AnswerID: 193632

Reply By: Hairy - Saturday, Sep 09, 2006 at 01:01

Saturday, Sep 09, 2006 at 01:01
What makes us Australians?
In the last week we have lost two or three of the many, great ones!
Who is going to fill their shoes?
We're not leaveing much for our kids.
I dont know if its just me getting paranoid but if we had a vote on what Australia should do I reckon we'd be out voted.
Unless someone does something real soon were in deep bleep !
AnswerID: 193634

Reply By: Member - Pezza (QLD) - Saturday, Sep 09, 2006 at 01:38

Saturday, Sep 09, 2006 at 01:38
There will only ever be one King Of The Mountain.

Flat out all the way to heaven. R.I.P. Brockie.

Pezza
AnswerID: 193636

Reply By: cackles - Saturday, Sep 09, 2006 at 08:15

Saturday, Sep 09, 2006 at 08:15
My oldies had the oppurtunity to meet Brocky a few times, the most memorable being a checkpoint on the round australia rally.
He had a cuppa with them and spoke with them for quite a while, complimented mum on her bikkies and remembered them at Bathurst a few years later.
what a genuine bloke.

RIP
AnswerID: 193649

Reply By: Robin - Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 06:47

Sunday, Sep 10, 2006 at 06:47
Hard to believe the run of bad luck that has taken out several Icons last week.

Never really new Peter Brock personally , although I did compete with him in 60's (not that I was any competition) at places like Winton and my favourite the old LakeLand hill climb that no longer exists.

I hear latest is that their may have been contributing factors such as he had just got off the plane from england and the road was wet and bumpy.

Sad loss to motor sport

AnswerID: 193754

Reply By: Joombi - Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 09:41

Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 09:41
Good-bye my childhood hero
AnswerID: 193940